Bilski starts the season with two wins at Sepang

The Asia Classic Car Challenge 2015 season got underway on the weekend in the scorching Malaysian sun, at the Sepang International Circuit.

The ACCC cars proved to be a favourite with the crowd, thundering around the circuit in all their glory. Cars on the grid included several classic Porsches, a Sylva Phoenix, two BMW E30’s, several Honda Civics, a Lola Ford, Neves 7 and a Datsun 260Z just to name a few.


2015-04-26_11.38.38_2Daniel Bilski got off to a flying start in his Porsche 911 RSR storming past pole sitter Henk J. Kiks’ Porsche 944, while Bill O’Brien stalled and had to restart off the grid in his Neves 7.

But Henk wasn’t going to let Bilski off too easy and re-passed him at turn 1 as the whole field were bunched up jostling for positions around the S-bends.

It was a tight battle further down the field as many cars tried to dive under each other at turn four, with the Sylva Phoenix of Kelvin Davies making a fantastic dive under the BMW E30 325i of Raymond Gillon.

As the field stormed away on lap one the Sienna Countach of Peter Gregory seemed to have problems slowly drifting behind at the back of the field.

The two leaders of Daniel Bilski and Henk Kiks were in a fierce battle swapping positions several times until Daniel retook the lead on Lap 2, immediately starting to pull away by half a second.

Hans De Back was having a lonely race in third position sitting six seconds behind Henk and a clear 16 seconds in front of Ahmed Fahmee.

2015-04-26_11.44.04_2Matthew Graham in his Peugeot 504 was having a tough battle with Ahmed’s Honda CRX for second position in Class C until Ahmed Fahmee had to retire giving Matthew Graham second in class, while Hans De Back took the chequered flag. Franciscus Teeuwen just couldn’t catch Graham in his BMW E30 and had to settle for third.

Class R third place finisher Erwin Boon was stuck in the battle between Class C drivers Hans De Back and Matthew Graham as Ian Geekie retired his Datsun 260Z after just four laps.

The bright green BMW E30 of Raymond Gillon drove a solid race to clinch the win in Class B with Michael Teague bringing his Porsche 944 home in second and Peter Cordosa finishing third in the Porsche 911.

By lap 6 Class R and overall leader Daniel Bilski was pulling away by 2 seconds a lap and eventually crossed the line in first place with a 19 second gap over Henk J. Kiks and Erwin Boon in third driving the Lola Ford.

Speaking about his win Daniel Bilski was happy with the start of the ACCC season; “It was good fun, really good fun and great to see everyone at the front being competitive. We went out on new tyres and had to try a different set-up. But once the tyres got up to temperature I got into a decent rhythm and I saw that Henk was having a lot of understeer, so I had to take advantage of that and push the new tyres while they were good.”


2015-04-26_09.55.58Henk J. Kiks was fast off the line at the start of Race two beating Daniel Bilski and Hans De Back to turn 1 and fending off the chasers through turn 4, pulling away by over 1 second and settling into position at the head of the pack.

Erwin Book was chasing Hans closing in an a 3 second gap as Bilski continued to fox with Henk for the next two laps.

A strong start by Kelvin Davies saw him storm through to fourth position overall chasing his rival in Class C Hans De Back who was continuing to pull away.

Class B leader Peter Cardosa driving the Porsche 911 Carrera was in a close battle with Zubir Ali’s Honda Civic EF with Michael Teague’s Porsche 944 joining in with only 3 second separating the three drivers.

After a couple of laps trying to find a way past Henk, Daniel Bilski makes a smooth pass on the inside at turn 1 with Henk fighting back through turn 2 but unable to make it stick. With failed attempts to regain the lead on the inside of turns 6, 7, and 9, Henk had to settle in second position. Now with an open track in front of him Bilski started to pull away by more than 2 seconds a lap.

2015-04-26_12.17.34Meanwhile Kelvin Davies found a way past Hans to take the lead in Class C and third overall with his Sylva Phoenix stronger than ever and showing now signs of slowing down, pulling away by 3 seconds.

Erwin Boon now had Hans in sight but was unable to catch him 9 seconds behind.

Henk was able to maintain a gap to Daniel by only 6 seconds but with his tyres worn out forcing him to go wide at turn 15 with a slow recovery dropping 22 seconds behind and having to settle for second place.

It was a tight fight for third between Class C drivers Sahrizal, Franciscus and Matthew Graham all within 1 second and trying to pass at every opportunity. Graham making two amazing passes on the final lap to secure third in Class.

2015-04-26_12.16.30Making it two wins from two races Daniel Bilski took the chequered flag in style with Henk J. Kiks and Erwin Boon filling second and third overall and in Class R.

Kelvin Davies won a well-deserved race in Class C with the Westfield Seven of Hans De Back finishing second.

Peter Cardosa drove a strong race to win in Class B with Michael Teague in second and ACCC rookie Raymond Gillon scoring another podium in third.

Full video interviews will be published shortly.

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published.